11th Capablanca Cup

11th Capablanca Cup

Nairobi Chess Club (NCC) is slowly resuming its activities after a long pause due to the Covid pandemic.

NCC is proud to announce its first OTB event of 2022 starting with the hugely popular Capablanca Cup.

The 11th edition of the Capablanca Cup will take place the weekend of 19/20 February 2022.
The venue will be the NCC site at Goan Gymkhana Club, Ngara Road, Nairobi.

This event is FIDE rated and will have three sections: Open, U1800 and U1600.

Poster for the 11th Capablanca Cup.

Poster for the 11th Capablanca Cup.

Players without FIDE ratings will register under the U1600.  A player is required to play 5 rated opponents and score at least one win or one draw to obtain an initial rating.

Due to Covid restrictions, the event is limited to only 64 players, with:

  • 16 players in the Open,
  • 16 players in the U1800 section and
  • 32 players in the U1600 section.

Other details of the 11th Capablanca Cup.

Other details of the 11th Capablanca Cup.

Registration fees:

  • Open section: KES 2,200 (KES 1,600 for NCC members)
  • U1800 section: KES 2,100 (KES 1,500 for NCC members)
  • U1700 section: KES 2,000 (KES 1,400 for NCC members)

Payment under:

Mpesa Paybill: 910200
Account Number: 2140014265
After payment, please register on: https://kenyachessmasala.com/tournament-registration

This year’s edition is sponsored by long time supporter of Nairobi Chess Club, Dr Mujahid Din and his Family in honour of his late dad Mohamed Younis Din who was a chess aficionado in his days.

The event boasts a total prize fund of KES 74,000.

Past winners

Past winners in this event have been:

1st winner was Humphrey Andolo – Kenya (1997)
2nd winner Jaswinder Singh – India (1999)
3rd winner IM Elijah Emojong – Uganda (2013)
4th winner Jackson Kamau – Kenya (2014)
5th winner Peter Gilruth – Kenya (2015)
6th winner CM Haruna Nsubuga – Uganda(2016)
7th winner Joseph Methu – Kenya (2017)
8th winner James Panchol – South Sudan (2018)
9th winner Lwanga Karoli – Kenya (2019)
10th winner FM Patrick Kawuma – Uganda (2020)


FM Patrick Kawuma wins 10th Capablanca Cup.

Lwanga Karoli wins 9th Capablanca Cup.

James Panchol wins 8th Capablanca Cup.

Joseph Methu wins 7th Capablanca Cup.

CM Haruna Nsubuga wins 6th Capablanca Cup.

You may also like...